Athletic Hall of Fame

  • Hall of FameThe purpose of Decatur Public Schools Athletic Hall of Fame is to recognize the athletic achievements of DPS alumni from Eisenhower, MacArthur, Decatur, Stephen Decatur, and Lakeview High Schools. Accomplishments for which they are recognized are those that occurred while in high school, with additional consideration given for off-field conduct and representing the schools in a positive manner.

    Both athletes and notable coaches will be considered for inclusion, with special consideration for recognition of team accomplishments (state titles or records). Nominees accepted into the Hall of Fame will be featured on interactive digital panels located at event entrances.

    • Alumni from Lakeview and Eisenhower will be recognized at Eisenhower High School.
    • Alumni from Decatur H.S., Stephen Decatur H.S., and MacArthur will be recognized at MacArthur High School.


    A selection committee, which includes a cross-section of community representatives, chooses inductees based on their contributions to their professions, government, education, athletics, and service to the community.


    Formal induction to the Hall of Fame will occur once a year, recognizing up to 12 athletes per class. Award cycles will occur during the MacArthur and Eisenhower football games during the fall athletic season.

    Except in the case of posthumous nominations, or in the event of illness or other hardship, nominees will be required to attend the induction ceremony at which they will be honored. 


    Click here to complete the DPS Athletic Hall of Fame Nomination Form to nominate an individual for consideration. Forms submitted prior to April 15 will be reviewed for Fall induction. 

    Call the office of Community Engagement at 217.362.3017 with any questions you might have about a nomination. Nominators are encouraged to send photos or videos of nominees via email to

    Click here to see Lakeview and Eisenhower Hall of Fame inductees.

    Click here to see Decatur, Stephen Decatur, and MacArthur Hall of Fame inductees.